Illuminating Light on Kean

As a Kean student, my focus is getting my assignments done, passing my classes, and keeping my GPA on tract. I never once thought about the history of Kean University….. Until it was made a subject in my history class. The combination of slavery and Kean never crossed my mind. However, it is mind blowing to learn that there is a link between the two subjects. The branches of Kean University’s history extends very far. Kean University was founded in 1855 in Newark, New Jersey, as the Newark Normal School. Initially established for the exclusive purpose of being a teacher-education college it became New Jersey State Teachers College in 1937. Presently, New Jersey State Teachers College is now Technology High School on Broadway Ave in Belleville which is a land mark I drive pass EVERYDAY. I look forward to doing more research on this facility especially since it is so close to home. I now look at Kean University and my community in another light.

Leave a Reply

