Together they Unite (blog 2)

Originally I thought that i would end up in the group that dealt with dorm life because that was what I really wanted to do. The group that I was selected to be a part of was Greek life, Sports, and student organizations. I was bummed at first because I wanted to know more about how black students felt about being there. How they handled the obstacles of being in a place that formerly did not see them as important enough to educate. So when I received my group I did not think that i would find it as interesting as it actually is.

When I started doing my research I realized that this was exactly what I wanted. This was precisely what I was looking for. There is an organization known as  the Exceptional Educational Opportunity, or the EEO for short; it was created to help give funding and financial support to black students that may have had trouble paying for their tuition fees. This organization was what I’d hope to find when searching for students that overcame challenges and played an integral in the black community.

Without them the daycare that we have now would not have been formed. They realized the importance of education. Students that were mothers would take shifts watching each others kids while taking classes. I thought that was amazing. That they were able to really band together and unite for something that would better all of them, and that that is why we have that here till this day. They have much more stories but that was one of my favorites.

Doing this research has really put a few things in perspective for me. It showed me that although blacks students currently are not as united as we once were that it is possible. It made me wish that I could go back in time and be a part of such a powerful and strong-minded community.

Leave a Reply

