Reflections on experience

Over the course of the past few months taking this course on Black History at Kean University, I have to say that my experience was enlightening to say the least, that being said I wish I had done much better in the actual speaking part of the tour. I don’t know what happened, I had rehearsed what I was planning to say in my head many times and practiced in person, but when it came down to the nitty gritty, everything just alluded me. I don’t why that happened, but it did, so I’m hoping that down the line I can make up for it.

However this blog post isn’t about me, but rather my experience in being in this course and tour. I personally feel that even though I had many shortcomings in this class, the experience was interesting, and a much-welcomed change of pace from the usual history class of large textbooks and 20 page papers. I had originally planned to post a collection of interviews that I had obtained on campus of several black students describing their experience at Kean University, but the videos just ended being too poor in quality, so I opted against it. But this has been a learning experience for me, and my mistakes in this course I feel will help better prepare me for future courses.

Leave a Reply

